St. Joseph’s announces scholarship recipients 

Press Release

St. Joseph's Mercy Health Center

St. Joseph’s announces list of 2006 scholarship recipients

HOT SPRINGS, Ark. – St. Joseph’s Mercy Health Center recently announced its 2006 list of 32 college scholarship winners, with seven going to co-workers and the other 25 to dependants of co-workers.

To qualify for one of the four different scholarships, candidates must be a St. Joseph’s co-worker or have parents who work for the hospital. Presently, St. Joseph’s annually gives out five $1,500 Shirley Williams scholarships, 20 $1,000 dependant scholarships, five $1,500 Gayle Sanders scholarships, one $1,000 Elisabeth Wagner scholarship and one $1,000 CJ Horner scholarship. They are awarded based on GPA, length of employment, interview score and financial need.

The Gayle Sanders scholarships, which support St. Joseph’s co-workers who are pursuing nursing degrees, were awarded to Kim Brumwell, Debbie Baldwin, Stephanie Christian, Stacey Lynne McVey and Colecia Whitaker. The Elisabeth Wagner and CJ Horner scholarships also go to co-workers who are pursuing a nursing degree and this year’s winners are Tonya Foreman and Barbara Ellis-Erby, respectively.

The dependant scholarship winners are: Bob Pellegrino, Malcolm Williams, Tiffany Elaine Dixon, Matthew K. Williams, Marissa Grandstaff, Sierra Spivey, Jennifer Irvin, Amanda Terauchi, Matt Jefferson, Amanda Rash, Dena Ellis, Adrienne LaShay, John David Richter, Julienne Neigh, Brian Moore, Emily Jean Jack, Candice T. Davis, Stephanie Lynn Drobena, Jason Thomas Pelton and Brittney Wigley.

The Shirley Williams scholarships are awarded to co-workers’ dependants and this year’s recipients are Nicholas Andrew Rosenau, Benjamin Black, Bobbi Ann Black, Jamie Elizabeth Smith and Nicole Freeman. Freeman was also St. Joseph’s recipient of a $1,000 Charles Thoele scholarship from the Sisters of Mercy. Eighteen Charles Thoele scholarships are given out annually – one to a dependant of a co-worker at each Strategic Service Unit (SSU) within the Sisters of Mercy Health System.

A member of the Sisters of Mercy Health System, St. Joseph’s is a not-for-profit Catholic hospital, two-time recipient of the HealthGrades Distinguished Hospital Award for Clinical Excellence™ and now winner of both the overall Diamond Award and large-company Gold Award at the 2006 Governor’s Family-Friendly Employer Awards ceremony. For further information on the recognition from HealthGrades, Governor Mike Huckabee’s Family-Friendly Employer Initiative and services offered by St. Joseph’s, please visit saintjosephs.com.



Speaking of Medical News


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Crystal Wallis

Most Shared

  • UPDATE: Retired Arkansas Arts Center director Townsend Wolfe dies at 81

    Townsend Durant Wolfe, III, retired director and chief curator of the Arkansas Arts Center, has died at 81.
  • Subpoenas identify names of federal interest in kickback probe

    The Northwest Arkansas Economic Development District today provided me with the subpoena it received from federal investigators in a probe that led to former Republican Rep. Micah Neal's guilty plea to taking kickbacks from money he guided to a nonprofit agency and a private college in Springdale, apparently Ecclesia College.
  • Human Services says it's eliminated Medicaid application backlog

    The state Human Services Department has informed Gov. Asa Hutchinson that it has all but eliminated a backlog in applications for Medicaid coverage.
  • Praising Asa

    Let us now praise the governor for a starkly moderate record, at least in comparison with other red-state executives.
  • Glass houses

    Having gotten a deep security briefing and probably a confidential glimpse of our own vast cyberspying operation, Donald Trump is no longer pretty sure that the Kremlin didn't hack Democratic computers or employ other tactics to help his election.

Latest in Medical Community

  • UAMS earns 10-year reaccreditation

    The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) recently learned that it has been reaccredited another 10 years by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.
    • Oct 16, 2007
  • UAMS performs 7,000th stem-cell transplant

    The internationally known treatment program for multiple myeloma at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) reached another milestone today (Oct. 10) as Jeffrey Zwerin of California received the 7,000th stem-cell transplant procedure perfor
    • Oct 10, 2007
  • Richard Morrison receives endowed chair

    Richard P. Morrison, M.D., today became the inaugural recipient of the Chair in Sciences Basic to Medicine at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS).
    • Oct 9, 2007
  • More »

Visit Arkansas

Indian Rock House at Fairfield Bay

Indian Rock House at Fairfield Bay

Winter is the perfect time to explore the natural stone shelters where native Arkansans once lived

Event Calendar

« »


1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31  

© 2017 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation