Inaugural events announced | Arkansas Blog

Thursday, December 14, 2006

Inaugural events announced

Posted By on Thu, Dec 14, 2006 at 4:20 PM

Governor-elect Mike Beebe's inaugural committee, headed by public relations executive Stacy Sells Pittman, today announced the schedule of events surrounding his swearing-in next month.

After a "Painting Arkansas Blue" party the night before, Beebe will take the oath of office at the State Capitol on the morning of Jan. 9. His inaugural ball ("The Believe in Arkansas Inaugural Ball") will take place later that night at the Statehouse Convention Center.

Tickets cost $25 for the Painting Arkansas Blue party and $100 for the ball.

Invitations will be mailed next week, and there is a website for more information (

The full press release, available after the jump, lists all 77 members of the inaugural committee.

The 2007 Inaugural Committee Unveils Inaugural Festivities
Governor-elect Mike Beebe Enlists 77 Members to Helm Inaugural Activities

LITTLE ROCK (Dec. 14, 2006) -- The 2007 Inaugural Committee announced today events surrounding the inauguration of Governor-elect Mike Beebe.

The schedule for the inaugural events follows:

MONDAY, JAN. 8, 2007
Painting Arkansas Blue Party
7-10 p.m.
Cajun’s Wharf Restaurant, 2400 Cantrell Road, Little Rock

TUESDAY, JAN. 9, 2007
The Oath of Office
10:30-11:30 a.m.
House Chamber, State Capitol

The Inaugural Address
12-1 p.m.
Capitol Steps*, State Capitol
*In the event of inclement weather, Rotunda, State Capitol
Open to the public

The Governor’s Reception
2-4 p.m.
Rotunda, State Capitol
Open to the public

The Believe in Arkansas Inaugural Ball
8-11 p.m.
Governor’s Hall, Statehouse Convention Center

Members of the inaugural committee, serving on a voluntary basis, met Tuesday at Trapnall Hall in Little Rock to review plans for the inaugural events.

“These are great individuals, great Arkansans, helping make the governor-elect’s inauguration a success,” said 2007 Inaugural Committee Coordinator Stacy Sells Pittman.  “We are expecting a historic time for our state with people traveling from every part of Arkansas to join in the celebration of our next governor.”

Pittman is also a senior vice president at Cranford Johnson Robinson Woods, the communications agency helping plan the festivities.

Committee members are Annie Abrams, Little Rock; Karen Akin, Russellville; Anne Allen, Little Rock; Sheila Bronfman, Little Rock; Jill Brown, Russellville; Penny K. Burkhalter, Little Rock; Donna Burnett, Gassville; Sherry Burrow, Jonesboro; Betty Lou Butler, Newport; Elizabeth Capps, Searcy; Dr. Caesar Compadre, Little Rock; Dr. Lawrence A. Davis Jr., Pine Bluff; Shirley Davis, Little Rock; Steve Edwards, Marianna; Connor Eldridge, Arkadelphia; Connee Ellis, Hot Springs; Barbara Kay Evans, Searcy; Lisa Ferrell, Little Rock; Jimmie Lou Fisher, Little Rock; Rick Fleetwood, Little Rock; Dr. John A Flowers, Sr., Pine Bluff; Susan Fraser, Bentonville; Judy S. Gaddy, Little Rock; Jorge Garcia, Hot Springs; Jamie Gates, Conway; Jennie Goss, Wilson; Mary Ann Greenwood, Fayetteville; Alicia Grimes, Greenwood; Ann Marie Guinn, Paragould; Brenda Gullett, Fayetteville; Cindy Hale, De Queen; Lt. Myron Hall, Hot Springs Village; Colette Honorable, Little Rock; Deborah L. Hoofman, North Little Rock; Q. Byrum Hurst, Jr., Hot Springs; and Myra L. Jones, Little Rock.

Other committee members are Col. Shirley Ledbetter Jones, Hot Springs; Steven Jones, West Memphis; Mike Kinard, Magnolia; Dianne H. Lamberth, Batesville; Jenelle Lipton, Warren; Jennifer Love, Little Rock; Bettie Ann Mahony, El Dorado; Melissa Masingill, Little Rock; Gabriela McLarty, Little Rock; Frances M. McSwain, Little Rock; Tonya Mercer, Searcy; Cindy Murphy, Little Rock; Jamie L. Pafford-Gresham, Hope;  Ruth Parker, Little Rock; Ann Peacock, McCrory; Harriett Phillips, Little Rock; Lisa Powell, Batesville; Mary Beth Ringgold, Little Rock; William L. Robinson, North Little Rock; Steve Ronnel, Little Rock; Mimi M. Ryan, Hot Springs; B.J. Saunders, Hot Springs; Margaret C. Schueck, Little Rock; Judith Strother, Mountain Home; Janice Sutton, Mountain View; Diane Thomas, Searcy; J.R. Thomas, Searcy; Dick Trammel, Rogers; Clark Trim, Maumelle; Lonnie Turner, Ozark; Dr. Jeremy W. Veteto, Farmington; Debbie Walker, Fayetteville, Michele Wells, Paris; Darrin Williams, Little Rock; Barbara Willis, Paragould; Lea Ellen Witt, Dardanelle; Diana Gonzalez Worthen, Springdale; Zac Wright, Little Rock; Gail Wynne, Fordyce; Margo Wynne, Fordyce; and Dr. Joe Dan Yee, Lake Village.

Invitations for the inaugural will be mailed next week.  Visit during the week leading up to inauguration events for updated information concerning parking, transportation, security information and more.

Tickets to the Painting Arkansas Blue party will be $25 each, and $100 each for the Believe in Arkansas Inaugural Ball.  Tickets can be purchased online late next week.

From the ArkTimes store



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Warwick Sabin

  • Helena's disappearing buildings

    Preservationists hope to slow demolitions.
    • Mar 22, 2007
  • Trailers headed to Dumas

    Gov. Mike Beebe issued the following statement earlier today: Although this decision by FEMA to deny emergency funds to Desha County defies common sense, Arkansas will take care of its own people.
    • Mar 9, 2007
  • Youth Ranch robbed, vandalized

    According to a press release we just received: The Donald W. Reynolds Campus of the Arkansas Sheriff’s Youth Ranches (The Ranch) located near Fort Smith was vandalized overnight Thursday.  Items stolen during the break-in included all of the children’s saddles, food, tools and supplies from The Ranch’s carpentry shop and all equipment from its auto shop.  An investigation is underway with the Crawford County Sheriff’s Office.
    • Mar 9, 2007
  • More »

Readers also liked…

Most Shared

  • Industrial hemp pilot program coming soon to Arkansas

    One of the booths at this week's Ark-La-Tex Medical Cannabis Expo was hosted by the Arkansas Hemp Association, a trade group founded to promote and expand non-intoxicating industrial hemp as an agricultural crop in the state. AHA Vice President Jeremy Fisher said the first licenses to grow experimental plots of hemp in the state should be issued by the Arkansas State Plant Board next spring.
  • The prayers of Rapert

    Sen. Jason Rapert is keeping a close eye on the Alabama Senate race.

Most Viewed

Most Recent Comments

  • Re: Today in Tom Cotton's clothes

    • Cast call for the Ebenezer Scrooge role in the Congressional production of "Christmas Carol?" Tax…

    • on December 13, 2017
  • Re: Today in Tom Cotton's clothes

    • I'm the last to advise anyone on what/how to dress. I will leave that to…

    • on December 13, 2017
  • Re: Open line

    • Now is the time to cancel mr brooks insurance to save money and let him…

    • on December 13, 2017



© 2017 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation