ERA fails | Arkansas Blog

Wednesday, February 7, 2007

ERA fails

Posted By on Wed, Feb 7, 2007 at 1:20 PM

The ERA failed to clear committee today on a 10-10 tie. Some expected votes went wobbly, as we feared, in the face of an all-out attack by Phyllis Schlafly and others on the Religious Right who don't want women to be treated equally. They raised the usual bogus alarums to mask a preference for a world in which men make more than women, have more powerful jobs and generally run things.

FOR the ERA: E. Brown, Edwards, Hall Pate, Saunders, Wood, Harrelson, Cheatham, Wagner, Sumpter

AGAINST  EQUAL RIGHTS FOR WOMEN: Master Danny Greenberg of Little Rock (an endorsement we continue to have cause to regret), Lance Reynolds of Quitman, Pam Adcock of Little Rock (a woman, double shame), Robert Jeffrey of Camden, David Evans of Searcy, Horace Hardwick of Bentonville (home to Wal-Mart and its anti-woman employment practices), Daryl Pace of Siloam Springs, Eric Harris of Springdale, Rick Green of Van Buren (doesn't think much of women or immigrants apparently), Buddy Lovell of Marked Tree.

Emails: rep.greenberg@gmail.com, reynoldsl@arkleg.state.ar.us, adcockp@arkleg.state.ar.us, jeffreyr@arkleg.state.ar.us, evansd@arkleg.state.ar.us, hardwickh@arkleg.state.ar.us, paced@arkleg.state.ar.us, harrise@arkleg.state.ar.us, greenr@arkleg.state.ar.us, lovellb@arkleg.state.ar.us

Reynolds and Lovell had both been sponsors of the measure. A serving of jellied backbone should be served them for lunch. Perhaps some womenfolk in their districts will ring them up and give them a talking to so the issue may be reconsidered.

Warwick is still working on the video editing.

The Republican weasels smirked today about an amendment stripping some 20 sponsors from the almost 70 who had signed in the House. A proud day for Democrats who went along with that bunch.

From the ArkTimes store

Favorite

Comments (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-8 of 8

Add a comment

More by Max Brantley

Readers also liked…

  • Kenneth Starr: A comment from Betsey Wright

    Betsey Wright, former President Bill Clinton's chief of staff when he was Arkansas governor, responds bitterly to a New York Times article today quoting Whitewater Prosecutor Kenneth Starr's warm words about Clinton. She can't forget the lives Starr ruined in Arkansas.
    • May 24, 2016
  • Hospitality, restaurant groups oppose bathroom bill

    Add the restaurant and hospitality association to those opposed to Sen. Linda Collins-Smith's bill to keep transgender people out of public restrooms that match their gender identity.
    • Mar 16, 2017
  • John Goodson and others add lawyers for hearing on forum shopping

    Lawyers facing federal court sanctions for forum shopping a class action insurance case have brought in new legal guns from out of state to fight potential sanctions.
    • May 26, 2016

Most Shared

Most Recent Comments

Blogroll

 

© 2017 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation