Senators exempt themselves on ethics | Arkansas Blog

Wednesday, March 7, 2007

Senators exempt themselves on ethics

Posted By on Wed, Mar 7, 2007 at 8:57 AM

Ever vigilant, Max calls from the airport to highlight yesterday's state Senate vote on a House-approved amendment that would ban current lawmakers from becoming lobbyists until a year after their terms in office end.

The amendment failed, 16-8, two votes short of the 18 necessary for passage.

The senators who ensured the failure of the amendment were ensuring that the bill would apply to future lawmakers, but not themselves.

Here are the eight who voted against it: Bisbee, Broadway, Glover, Hendren, Hill, Horn, J. Taylor and Whitaker.

Here are the eleven who did not vote, which effectively was also a "no" vote: Brown, Bryles, G. Jeffress, J. Jeffress, Luker, Madison, B. Pritchard, T. Smith, Steele, Wilkins and Womack.

The Senate expunged yesterday's vote on the amendment, and the measure may be brought up again. Will the senators choose again to exempt themselves from an ethical standard they would impose on their successors?

Sign up for the Daily Update email

Comments (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-8 of 8

Add a comment

More by Warwick Sabin

  • Helena's disappearing buildings

    Preservationists hope to slow demolitions.
    • Mar 22, 2007
  • Trailers headed to Dumas

    Gov. Mike Beebe issued the following statement earlier today: Although this decision by FEMA to deny emergency funds to Desha County defies common sense, Arkansas will take care of its own people.
    • Mar 9, 2007
  • Youth Ranch robbed, vandalized

    According to a press release we just received: The Donald W. Reynolds Campus of the Arkansas Sheriff’s Youth Ranches (The Ranch) located near Fort Smith was vandalized overnight Thursday.  Items stolen during the break-in included all of the children’s saddles, food, tools and supplies from The Ranch’s carpentry shop and all equipment from its auto shop.  An investigation is underway with the Crawford County Sheriff’s Office.
    • Mar 9, 2007
  • More »

Readers also liked…

Most Viewed

Most Recent Comments


© 2018 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation