Tie a Yellow Ribbon | Arkansas Blog

Tuesday, July 22, 2008

Tie a Yellow Ribbon

Posted By on Tue, Jul 22, 2008 at 4:08 PM

Gov. Mike Beebe announced appointments today to a Yellow Ribbon Task Force to work on helping veterans return to civilian life from the war in Iraq.

Among the appointees, Janet M. Huckabee, the former first lady, who was recently honored by the Beebe administration by having her name stripped from the entrance doorway to the Governor's Mansion Grand Hall.

A little makeup, maybe? Or maybe not. Huckabee wanted to serve on the panel, a Beebe spokesman said. Her job at the Red Cross is to work on services for military families.


LITTLE ROCK – Governor Mike Beebe today announced the 19 Arkansans who will comprise the Arkansas Yellow Ribbon Task Force.  The Task Force will focus on addressing issues faced by veterans returning from deployment overseas and aging veterans with increasing health needs.

            "These volunteers recognize that while we’ve gotten better at coordinating the services our men and women in uniform need, there is still more to be done," Beebe said. "By sitting down together, members of this Task Force will share their specialties and ideas to identify ways that we can better serve all our veterans."

            The members of the Arkansas Yellow Ribbon Task Force are the following:


--- George Westmoreland (Chairman), Rogers, civilian aide to the Secretary of the Army

--- Senator David Bisbee, Rogers, veteran

--- Bob Burns, Magnolia, Farmer Bank and Trust, veteran

--- Representative David Cook, Williford, veteran

--- Kim Dixon, Prairie Grove, military wife

--- David Fletcher, Monette, director of the Arkansas Department of Veterans Affairs

--- Janet Huckabee, North Little Rock, American Red Cross Arkansas Program Manager for Services to Military Families

--- Theotis King, Little Rock, elder, McAlmont Church of Christ, veteran

--- Dr. Joann Kirchner, Heber Springs, South Central Mental Illness Research, Education and Clinical Center

--- Colonel Nate McGee (Ret.), Hensley, former Army National Guard Deputy Chief of Logistics

--- Major General Don Morrow (Ret.), Little Rock, Executive Director of Employer Support for Guard and Reserve

--- Representative Bobby Pierce, Sheridan, former Arkansas National Guardsman

--- Cheryl Rawls, North Little Rock, director of VA Regional Office

--- Andrea Rockefeller-Hobbs, Little Rock, Arkansas Chapter President of Operation Homefront

--- Paige Smith, Fayetteville, president of Families Readiness Group – 142nd Fires Brigade

--- Representative Randy Stewart, Kirby, veteran

--- Chris Sultemeier, Rogers, Wal-Mart, veteran

--- Mike Winn, Bryant, director of the Little Rock VA Medical Center

--- Major General William Wofford, Conway, Adjutant General, Arkansas National Guard


Governor Beebe's office has coordinated with Congressman John Boozman's office in developing the Arkansas Yellow Ribbon Task Force to coordinate services and outreach groups assisting Arkansas military personnel.   Representatives from Arkansas state agencies and higher-education institutions will also work with the Task Force.

The first meeting of the Task Force will be Tuesday, July 29, at the State Capitol


Comments (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-10 of 10

Add a comment

More by Max Brantley

  • TGIF: News roundup, open line

    The week-ending news roundup and open line.
    • Oct 19, 2018
  • Rich white people fund PAC behind racist attack ads supporting French Hill UPDATE

    More reporting on the people contributing to Black Americans for the President's Agenda, which is running racist ads in Little Rock in support of Republican Rep. French Hill. The money isn't coming from black Americans, but wealthy conservative Republicans such as an owner of the San Francisco Giants. GOP feeling heat, files ethics complaint on ad.
    • Oct 19, 2018
  • Another made-up Republican attack: The Saline County socialists are coming to take your business

    The latest in bogus Republican political attacks comes from Saline County, where Steve Lux, chairman of the county Republican Committee, has sent a letter warning members of the Benton-Bryant Chamber of Commerce that a progressive group working to elect Democrats in the county is allied with a socialist group that wants nothing less than "the elimination of private business." This is, of course, nonsense.
    • Oct 19, 2018
  • More »

Readers also liked…

  • Payday lenders on the march at legislature

    Payday lenders are working hard to get legislative cover for the reintroduction of their usurious loan business to Arkansas. Some are fighting back.
    • Mar 10, 2017
  • LR Police Chief Buckner in running for Charleston, S.C. job

    KATV reports that Little Rock Police Chief Kenton Buckner is one of five finalists for the job of police chief in Charleston, S.C., and will be visit Charleston next week as part of the process.
    • Feb 2, 2018
  • The two cities of Little Rock: East/west, black/white

    The Little Rock City Board illustrated this week a community divided over public schools, another blow to the Little Rock School District and another illustration of the need for ward elections to the board.
    • Mar 23, 2017


  • Arkansas vs Ole Miss at War Memorial stadium in Little Rock, Saturday, Oct. 13, 2018. After leading for much of the game, Arkansas lost 37-33 when Ole Miss scored the game winning Touchdown with less that 2 minutes left. 
  • Margaret Clark Adventure Park
    New sculptures, preschoolers play area dedicated in Riverfront Park in Little Rock.

Most Recent Comments


© 2018 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation