New hands at City Hall | Arkansas Blog

Tuesday, December 23, 2008

New hands at City Hall

Posted By on Tue, Dec 23, 2008 at 2:23 PM

Attached is a list of appointments to Little Rock city boards approved by the Board of Directors Tuesday. Among the biggies: Kay Kelley Arnold was reappointed to the Airport Commission. And they filled those three vacancies on the sometimes-hot Planning Commission with William Changose, Billy J. Rouse Jr. and Candice Smith.

Small world department: "Goose" Changose, an Alltel vice president who works on roaming and carrier relations for the wireless company, is also a retired C-17 pilot. It so happens he was the pilot of the flight Sen. Hillary Clinton took into Bosnia that became an issue during the presidential campaign. His account of the danger of the mission was at variance with Clinton's. He ought to be able to handle developer flak in his new government work. He came to Little Rock after retirement because of past duty at LRAFB.

Rouse has worked in the construction industry since 1999. Smith is a lawyer and federal budget and tax policy director for Arkansas Advocates for Children and Families.

Little Rock, AR (23 December 2008).  Little Rock Mayor Mark Stodola and the City Board of Directors appointed twenty people to six commissions at the December 22, 2008, City Board meeting.

Kay Kelley Arnold was reappointed to a five year term on the Airport Commission.  She holds an Aviation Experience spot on that body.

Betsy Luten was appointed and both Walter Jennings and Lynn Mittelstaedt Warren were reappointed to three year terms on the City Beautiful Commission.  Jennings and Luten hold At-Large positions and Warren is in a Architect/Landscape Architect slot.

Seven members were reappointed to three year terms on the Parks and Recreation Commission.  They are:  William G. “Bill” Cobb, Don Evans, Melinda Faubel, Gwendolyn Hodge, Kathy Holt, Jordan P. Johnson, Sr., and James D. Rankin III.  All serve in an At-Large capacity.

Little Rock’s Planning Commission welcomes William Changose, Billy J. Rouse, Jr., and Candice Smith to three year terms.  Troy Laha and Obray Nunnley, Jr., were reappointed to three year terms on the Planning Commission, as well. 

Terry Burruss was appointed and Frank A. Porbeck was reappointed to service on the River Market District Design Review Committee.  Each will serve a three year term.

The Sister Cities Commission’s two newest members are Keith Lacewell and Barry McDaniel.  Terms of service on this commission are five years.

Service on Little Rock Boards and Commissions is voluntary; there is no compensation.  For more information on Little Rock Boards and Commissions, visit the City’s website at

From the ArkTimes store



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Max Brantley

Readers also liked…

  • Kenneth Starr: A comment from Betsey Wright

    Betsey Wright, former President Bill Clinton's chief of staff when he was Arkansas governor, responds bitterly to a New York Times article today quoting Whitewater Prosecutor Kenneth Starr's warm words about Clinton. She can't forget the lives Starr ruined in Arkansas.
    • May 24, 2016
  • Civil War over in Fort Smith; lawyer strikes his Rebel mascot battle tent

    KSFM reports that Joey McCutchen, the lawyer who's been trying to restart the Civil War in Fort Smith over the School Board's decision to drop the Rebel mascot and related trappingsfor Southside High School, is dropping his School Board takeover campaign.
    • May 27, 2016
  • The long and winding road: No exception yet for 30 Crossing

    The Arkansas highway department's representative on the Metroplan board of directors told the board today that the department is requesting an exception to the planning agency's cap on six lanes for its 30 Crossing project to widen Interstate 30 from six to 10 (and more) lanes.
    • Jun 29, 2016

Most Shared

Most Viewed

Most Recent Comments



© 2017 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation