Disaster declared | Arkansas Blog

Friday, February 6, 2009

Disaster declared

Posted By on Fri, Feb 6, 2009 at 5:52 PM

In 23 counties so far.


LITTLE ROCK – Governor Mike Beebe received word Friday afternoon that President Obama has granted his request for a major disaster declaration in Arkansas counties hit hard by last week’s ice storm.  

The 23 counties covered by the federal declaration include Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Craighead, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Johnson, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Mississippi, Newton, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren and Washington.  Conway and Cross Counties were included in Governor Beebe's request but did not meet the requirements to be included in the federal declaration.  Additional counties will be added to the State’s request as damage assessments continue.

            "I again thank President Obama and federal authorities for their rapid consideration of our request," Governor Beebe said.  "Secretary of Homeland Security Janet Napolitano called me this morning to touch base regarding FEMA's response in Arkansas and to offer her assistance in the final approval of our request."

            The declaration brings with it federal assistance to cover 75 percent of the damages to public infrastructure in the affected counties, including utility systems, roads and bridges, water-control facilities and debris removal.

            Beebe will submit an additional request for individual assistance to help Arkansans with uninsured losses resulting from the storm once those damage assessments are complete.  Arkansans with such damage to their property are encouraged to contact the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management at 1-888-683-2336.

Sign up for the Daily Update email


Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

More by Max Brantley

Readers also liked…

  • Your daily dose of Jason Rapert

    Sen. Jason Rapert really, really didn't like it when a KATV reporter asked him about the hypocrisy of his political arguments.
    • Feb 4, 2017
  • Trump administration approves Medicaid waiver for Kentucky, including work requirements

    The Trump administration today approved Kentucky's request for a waiver of Medicaid rules to implement certain changes to its Medicaid expansion program, including work requirements. Next up, Arkansas?
    • Jan 12, 2018
  • Campus gun bill clears committee

    The so-called compromise amendment that will allow anyone 25 or older with a training certificate carry a concealed weapon on public college campuses was approved in a Senate committee this afternoon.
    • Feb 21, 2017

Most Viewed

Most Recent Comments



© 2018 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation