Go Green | Arkansas Blog

Friday, February 20, 2009

Go Green

Posted By on Fri, Feb 20, 2009 at 8:39 AM

The Sierra Club will honor good citizens, public and private, for environmental activism next week. Read on for heroes of the fight agaisnt global warming, to protect Lake Maumelle, to protect the air from more coal-burning power plants.

Little Rock, Arkansas, February 20, 2009 – A coalition that has challenged the construction of a pollution-spewing coal plant in Hempstead County has been named the Conservationist of the Year in Arkansas by the state’s chapter of the Sierra Club.

The coalition opposing the John W. Turk coal-fired power plant with its outdated technology includes Audubon Arkansas, the Ecological Conservation Organization (ECO), the Hempstead County Hunting Club, and the Sierra Club.

In addition, Kate Althoff of Little Rock has been named the Sierran of the Year for her leadership in the local Sierra Club and for being a driving force to guard against the potential pollution of Lake Maumelle, a source of drinking water for almost 400,000 citizens.

The coalition, Althoff and others will be honored during the annual Conservation Awards Banquet hosted by the Sierra Club of Arkansas on the evening of February 28 at the Women’s Club of Little Rock.  More information and tickets are available by calling Fred Stanchi at (501) 960-8007 or sending an e-mail to stanchman@sbcglobal.net.

Several other individuals and organizations will be recognized for their role in protecting the resources and beauty of the Natural State and raising awareness of how our economy, jobs and quality of life are linked directly to our environment.

Community awards to be presented include: Elected Public Official of the Year, State Representative Kathy Webb, who has served as chair of the Governor’s Commission on Global Warming; Environmental Reporting, Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN); Environmental Organization, Winthrop Rockefeller Foundation; Public Servant, Central Arkansas Veterans Healthcare System;  Environmental Small Business, Greenhouse Grille of Fayetteville; and Environmental Large Business, Molex Little Rock Connector of Maumelle.

Sierra Club members to be honored include Activist of the Year, Steve Smith of Fayetteville; Outstanding New Sierran, Molly Rawn of Fayetteville; Unsung Hero, Fred Stanchi of Maumelle; and Student of the Year, Cody Hooks of Mills High School.

The featured speaker at the awards banquet will be Robert McAfee of RePower Arkansas who will discuss the opportunity to develop and grow “Green Jobs” in the state.

The Sierra Club is the oldest, largest, and most influential grassroots environmental organization in the U.S.  Its Arkansas chapter has thousands of members throughout the state with local groups based in Little Rock and Fayetteville.  Nationally, the organization has 1.3 million members who want a safe and healthy community in which to live, smart energy solutions to combat global warming, and an enduring legacy for America's wild places.

From the ArkTimes store



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Max Brantley

Readers also liked…

  • Judge anticipates punishment of lawyers in Fort Smith class action case

    Federal Judge P.K. Holmes of Fort Smith issued a 32-page ruling yesterday indicating he contemplates punishment of 16 lawyers who moved a class action lawsuit against an insurance company out of his court to a state court in Polk County after a settlement had been worked out.
    • Apr 15, 2016
  • Payday lenders on the march at legislature

    Payday lenders are working hard to get legislative cover for the reintroduction of their usurious loan business to Arkansas. Some are fighting back.
    • Mar 10, 2017
  • Kenneth Starr: A comment from Betsey Wright

    Betsey Wright, former President Bill Clinton's chief of staff when he was Arkansas governor, responds bitterly to a New York Times article today quoting Whitewater Prosecutor Kenneth Starr's warm words about Clinton. She can't forget the lives Starr ruined in Arkansas.
    • May 24, 2016

Most Shared

Most Recent Comments



© 2017 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation