2nd District debate set | Arkansas Blog

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

2nd District debate set

Posted By on Wed, Oct 20, 2010 at 3:09 PM

Sen. Joyce Elliott, the Democrat, and Tim Griffin, the Republican, will meet for a debate at 11:30 a.m. Tuesday, Oct. 26 at the Statehouse Convention Center in a program put on by the Clinton School and the Political Animals Club. KTHV's Craig O'Neill will moderate.

Maybe somebody will bring up caging. Bring a lunch or buy one for $20 from the Peabody Hotel.

ALSO: Another 1st District debate has been announced, at 6:30 p.m. Thursday in Jonesboro. It will be broadcast several ways, including by an ASU webcast.

ALSO: I'm reminded that North Little Rock young professionals will sponsor a 2nd District forum at noon Thursday, Oct. 21, at the North Little Rock Chamber of Commerce, Bank of the Ozarks Conference Center-2nd floor, at 100 Main Street, North Little Rock. A lunch will be served at 11:30 and candidate remarks begin at noon. To attend, you have to RSVP by calling (501) 372-5959 or e-mailing nlrchamber@nlrchamber.org.


Three competitors who are seeking the 1st Congressional District seat in the Nov. 2 general election ballot will discuss current issues in a live broadcast forum Thursday on the Arkansas State University campus.

Green Party candidate Ken Adler, Democratic nominee Chad Causey and Republican nominee Rick Crawford all have accepted invitations to participate in the program. They are running for Arkansas’ 1st Congressional District seat, which became open earlier this year when Rep. Marion Berry decided not to seek re-election to the seat he has held since 1997.

Thursday night’s program will be broadcast live on ASU-TV, Channel 18 on the Jonesboro Suddenlink cable network, and on KASU, 91.9 FM. The KASU signal is available worldwide through Internet streaming at KASU.org. The program will also be replayed later on Channel 18.

The 90-minute forum will take place in the ASU-TV studio, located in the Education-Communications Building, starting at 6:30 p.m.

The candidates will field questions from a panel of journalists, including Jonesboro Sun Editor Roy Ockert Jr.; KASU’s local host of “Morning Edition” Mark Smith; and senior radio-television major Shannon O’Nale from Cabot, who is the student station manager of ASU-TV. The moderator will be Dr. Richard Wang, chairman of the ASU Department of Political Science.

The debate is a joint production of The Sun, the ASU Department of Political Science, ASU-TV and KASU radio.
Limited seating is available in the studio audience on a first-come, first-served basis. The studio will be opened at 5:30 p.m. and closed for final preparations at 6:15.

Tags: , , , , ,


Comments (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-7 of 7

Add a comment

More by Max Brantley

  • Jerry Dhonau, former Gazette editorial page editor, dies at 83

    Jerry Dhonau, a retired newspaperman whose career included reporting on the Little Rock school crisis and being editorial page editor of the Arkansas Gazette when it closed in 1991, has died. Ernest Dumas provides his colleague’s obituary.
    • Aug 18, 2018
  • DHS confirms it's withholding personnel records on Leslie Rutledge

    Chris Burks, the lawyer in a Freedom of Information Act lawsuit seeking personnel records of Attorney General Leslie Rutledge when she was a staff lawyer at the Department of Human Services, says DHS confirms the existence of records that have not been released in previous examinations of her record there.
    • Aug 18, 2018
  • Death reported in Malvern prison

    The Correction Department is reporting what it calls an apparent suicide Thursday evening in the Ouachita River Correction unit in Malvern.
    • Aug 18, 2018
  • More »

Readers also liked…

  • Trump immigration protest at LR: Quick and fierce

    It was not even 24 hours ago that Sophia Said, director of the Interfaith Center; City Director Kathy Webb and others decided to organize a protest today of Donald Trump's executive order that has left people from Muslim countries languishing in airports or unable to come to the US at all — people with visas, green cards,a  post-doc graduate student en route to Harvard, Google employees abroad, families. I got the message today before noon; others didn't find out until it was going on. But however folks found out, they turned out in huge numbers, more than thousand men, women and children, on the grounds of the state Capitol to listen to speakers from all faiths and many countries.
    • Jan 29, 2017
  • Little Rock school activists announce events for 60th anniversary of Central High crisis

    The group is not affiliated with the official "Reflections of Progress" commemoration of the 60th anniversary. However, at least two of the Little Rock Nine may be joining the group for an event at 2:30 p.m. at the state Capitol in the Old Supreme Court Chamber.
    • Sep 14, 2017
  • Your daily dose of Jason Rapert

    Sen. Jason Rapert really, really didn't like it when a KATV reporter asked him about the hypocrisy of his political arguments.
    • Feb 4, 2017

Most Viewed

Most Recent Comments



© 2018 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation