AFL-CIO silent on constitutional amendments | Arkansas Blog

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

AFL-CIO silent on constitutional amendments

Posted By on Tue, Aug 14, 2012 at 2:57 PM

The Arkansas State AFL-CIO has issued its endorsements for November, primarily Democrats for state and federal office.

These decisions stand out:

* 2ND DISTRICT CONGRESS: No recommendation in the race between incumbent Republican Rep. Tim Griffin and Democrat Herb Rule. (Griffin probably would have preferred an endorsement of Rule, given his ardent anti-union positions.)

* STATE SENATE, DISTRICT 7: The AFL-CIO issued a joint endorsement for this Springdale-area seat — Democrat Dianna Gonzales Worthen and Republican Jon Woods.

* LEGISLATIVELY REFERRED CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS: No opinion on either the proposal to raise the sales tax to pay for a four-lane construction program or the proposal to allow city and county sales taxes to be diverted to support bonds to pay for private development projects.

* INITIATIVE CAMPAIGNS STILL IN PROGRESS: No opinion on medical marijuana. On the Nancy Todd Poker Palace amendment for four casinos, it said the AFL-CIO would support the measure if it makes the ballot.


For Immediate Release: August 14, 2012

Arkansas AFL-CIO COPE Convention Political Endorsements

Seventy delegates from 29 International Unions representing 24,000 Arkansas union members and their families met on August 10 and 11, 2012 at the Arkansas AFL-CIO COPE Convention in Hot Springs. Delegates and Central Labor Councils interviewed candidates on issues of importance to the working people of Arkansas such as Job creation and retention; Trade and Manufacturing; Retirement Security: Pensions and Social Security; Medicare and Medicaid; and Workers’ Rights. Delegates then voted on candidate endorsements which requires a 2/3 affirmative vote in order to receive. The candidates receiving endorsements from the Arkansas AFL-CIO are as follows:

District 1: Scott Ellington
District 2: NO POSITION
District 3: Rebekah Kennedy [Green Party]
District 4: Senator Gene Jeffress

District 4: Rep. Uvalde Lindsey
District 6: John Paul Wells
District 7: Diana Gonzales Worthen AND Rep. Jon Woods
District 9: Rep. Tracy Pennartz
District 10: Sen. Larry Teague
District 11: Sen. Steve Harrelson
District 12: Bruce Maloch
District 13: Sen. Mike Fletcher
District 15: Johnny Hoyt
District 18: William "Zac" White
District 19: Sen. David Wyatt
District 20: Sen. Robert Thompson
District 21: Sen. Paul Bookout
District 22: Sen. David Burnett
District 23: Rep. Jerry Brown
District 24: Rep. Keith Ingram
District 25: Sen. Stephanie Flowers
District 26: Rep. Eddie Cheatham
District 27: Rep. Bobby Pierce
District 28: Sen. Tiffany Rogers
District 30: Sen. Linda Poindexter Chesterfield
District 31: Sen. Joyce Elliott
District 32: Sen. David Johnson
District 34: Rep. Barry Hyde
District 35: Rep. Linda Tyler

District 3: Brent Talley
District 4: Fonda Hawthorne
District 5: Rep. David Fielding
District 7: JOP John Baine
District 8: Jeffrey Wardlaw
District 9: Rep. Sheila Lampkin
District 10: Judge Mike Holcomb
District 11: Mark McElroy
District 13: David Hillman
District 14: Rep. Walls McCrary
District 15: Charles Tadlock
District 16: Rep. James Word
District 17: Rep. Henry "Hank" Wilkins IV
District 18: Fred Harris
District 19: Rep. Nate Steel
District 20: Lewis Diggs
District 24: Jimmie Harmon
District 25: Rep. John Vines
District 26: David Kizzia
District 28: Barbara Nix
District 29: Rep. Fred Love
District 30: Charles Armstrong
District 31: Tommy Formicola
District 32: Barbara Graves
District 33: Warwick Sabin
District 34: Rep. John Walker
District 35: Rep. John Edwards
District 36: Rep. Darrin Williams
District 37: Eddie Armstrong III
District 38: Patti Julian
District 39: Kelly Halstead
District 40: Steven McNeely
District 41: Rep. Jim Nickels
District 42: Mark Perry
District 44: Judy Riley
District 46: Kyle Osborne
District 47: Jody Dickinson
District 48: Rep. Reginald Murdock
District 50: Rep. Hudson Hallum
District 51: Deborah Ferguson
District 52: LJ Bryant
District 53: Rep. Homer Lenderman
District 54: Wes Wagner
District 55: Monte Hodges
Distrcit 56: Joe Jett
District 57: Mary Broadaway
District 58: Harold (Cope) Copenhaver
District 59: Rep. Butch Wilkins
District 60: Rep. James Ratliff
District 61: Scott Baltz
District 62: Rep. Tommy Wren
District 63: Rep. James McLean
District 65: Rep. Tommy Thompson
District 66: Jeff Pistole
District 67: Sam Lane
District 69: Rep. Betty Overbey
District 70: Cody Bassham
District 72: Steve Magie
District 73: Rep. John Wayne Catlett
District 74: Daniel Wall
District 75: Steven Breedlove
District 77: Doris Tate
District 78: George McGill
District 80: Jack Norton
District 81: Wolf Grulkey
District 82: Rep. Leslee Milam Post
District 84: Adella Gray
District 85: David Whitaker
District 86: Rep. Greg Leding
District 89: Yessie Hernandez
District 97: Robert "Butch" Berry

*Constitutional amendments that will be referred directly to the electorate by the 88th General Assembly. These measures will appear on the state's November 6, 2012, General Election Ballot.
Listed by Popular Name

Issue 1: An Amendment to provide additional funding for State Highways, County Roads, City Streets, Bridges, and other surface transportation.

Issue 2: An Amendment concerning Municipal and County financing of Sales Tax anticipated Revenue Bond Projects, Unfunded Liabilities of Closed Local Police and Fire Pension Plans, and Real and Tangible Personal Property.

*Possible Initiative Measures: Their sponsors are still working to gather enough signatures in order for the Initiatives to be placed on the November 6, 2012, General Election Ballot.

Initiative 1: The Arkansas Medical Marijuana Act.

Initiative 2: An Amendment to Allow Nancy Todd's Poker Palace and Entertainment Venues, LLC to own and operate four Casino Gaming Establishments, One in each Pulaski, Miller, Franklin, and Crittendon Counties.

Tags: ,

From the ArkTimes store


Comments (6)

Showing 1-6 of 6

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-6 of 6

Add a comment

More by Max Brantley

Readers also liked…

  • LR speakers blast state board for double standard

    A series of speakers, beginning with Sen. Joyce Elliott, denounced what they saw as a hidden agenda favoring charter schools at the state Department of Education and asked the state Board of Education for return of local control.
    • May 12, 2016
  • Among the last words from Kenneth Williams: 'Finger Lickin' Good Fried Chicken'

    What's purported to be a final-words essay from condemned prisoner Kenneth Williams was distributed today by Deborah Robinson, a freelance journalist in Arkansas.  He reflects on his execution, his victims, reactions of inmates and big servings of fried chicken, which he says are given to all inmates on execution days.
    • Apr 27, 2017
  • Kenneth Starr: A comment from Betsey Wright

    Betsey Wright, former President Bill Clinton's chief of staff when he was Arkansas governor, responds bitterly to a New York Times article today quoting Whitewater Prosecutor Kenneth Starr's warm words about Clinton. She can't forget the lives Starr ruined in Arkansas.
    • May 24, 2016

Most Shared

Most Viewed

Most Recent Comments

  • Re: Thursday line's open

    • More from Andy Borowitz: Roy Moores Defeat Means Ted Cruz Retains Status as Most Despised…

    • on December 14, 2017
  • Re: Thursday line's open

    • wasn't roy rogers' sidekick pat brady, who drove around in a jeep he called nellie…

    • on December 14, 2017
  • Re: Thursday line's open

    • Doigotta....I'm still here.

    • on December 14, 2017



© 2017 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation