Former Judge Proctor, 9 others, file for city board | Arkansas Blog

Friday, August 17, 2012

Former Judge Proctor, 9 others, file for city board

Posted By on Fri, Aug 17, 2012 at 12:48 PM

Willard Proctor image
  • Proctor

At the noon deadline today, 10 persons had filed as candidates in opposition to the three at-large incumbents on the City Board of Directors. City Clerk Susan Langley is still working on verifying the signatures candidates must include on their filing; so far, two, Dr. Lynette Bryant, who was seeking the Position 8 seat held by Dr. Dean Kumpuris, and Lloyd Young, who was seeking the Position 10 seat held by Joan Adcock, have come up short of the 50 valid voters signatures needed.

Still being verified are signatures for Adam Lansky, the Occupy Arkansas candidate against Kumpuris; Anthony Jerome Hampton, Lynn Hamilton, former Judge Willard Proctor and Glen Schwartz have filed for the Position 9 seat that Gene Fortson is seeking re-election to, and Robert Webb, Kaitlin Lott (also affiliated with Occupy Little Rock and Clayton Johnson have filed to run against Adcock.

Hamilton has already issued a press release stating what he sees as the issues, from the broad to the particular. Among them is ending at-large board positions, which if successful would knock him off the council; acknowledging that there is a "power struggle" between residents north and south of I-630, using the Tech Park as an example; protection of the Lake Maumelle watershed; ballfields in Southwest and West Little Rock, and the preservation of the 1840s Woodruff House east of Interstate 30.

Webb is a former commissioner with the Little Rock Housing Authority who was denied a second term on the board after he was outspoken in opposition to the 1 percent sales tax campaign last year; Johnson took his place.

Tags: ,


Comments (11)

Showing 1-11 of 11

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-11 of 11

Add a comment

More by Leslie Newell Peacock


    Contrary to rumor, Live Life Chill, the bar/restaurant in the erstwhile Revolution Taco and Tequila Lounge space at the corner of Cantrell and President Clinton Avenue, is not closed. Service manager Lindsey McFadin called the Times this afternoon to say a rumor the bar had closed was killing business; by 3 p.m., no one had been in. The Times, too, had heard the rumor from a number of sources. What has changed, McFadin said, is that the bar is now only open from 11 a.m. to 2 a.m. Friday and Saturday and 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Sunday.
    • Nov 16, 2018
  • New gallery for SoMa: M2

    M2 Gallery, located for 12 years in the Pleasant Ridge Shopping Center, has made the move to 1300 Main St. in the hopping SoMa neighborhood and will hold its Grand (Re)opening from 5-8 p.m. Nov. 30.
    • Nov 16, 2018
  • Entergy agrees to end coal-burning in Arkansas in Sierra Club settlement

    Under a settlement agreement filed in federal court today, Entergy Arkansas has agreed to quit burning coal at its White Bluff plant by the end of 2028, its Independence plant by the end of 2030 and to shutter its remaining operating plant at Lake Catherine by the end of 2027.
    • Nov 16, 2018
  • More »

Readers also liked…


  • Arkansas vs Ole Miss at War Memorial stadium in Little Rock, Saturday, Oct. 13, 2018. After leading for much of the game, Arkansas lost 37-33 when Ole Miss scored the game winning Touchdown with less that 2 minutes left. 
  • Margaret Clark Adventure Park
    New sculptures, preschoolers play area dedicated in Riverfront Park in Little Rock.

Most Recent Comments


© 2018 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation