Governor names another task force, this one on youth justice | Arkansas Blog

Monday, August 3, 2015

Governor names another task force, this one on youth justice

Posted By on Mon, Aug 3, 2015 at 10:47 AM

Gov. Asa Hutchinson has formed yet another task force, this one called the "Youth Justice Reform Board." It will work with the Division of Youth Services on juvenile justice. Stamping out abusive treatment in detention centers would be a good start. Moving away from detention centers (incubators for career criminals) would be another good start.

The members:

Judge Joyce Warren, Pine Bluff. Pulaski County, Juvenile Judge. [Sic: Warren lives in Little Rock.]

Judge Troy Braswell, Conway. Faulkner County, Juvenile Judge.

Kate Shufeldt, Little Rock. Administrative Office of the Court, Court Improvement Program Director.

Bishop Robert Rudolph, Malvern. Church of God in Christ, Auxiliary Bishop. [Sic. Rudolph lives in Little Rock.]

Scott Tanner, Little Rock. Juvenile Detention Ombudsman.

Paul Kelly, Little Rock. Arkansas Advocates for Children & Families, Senior Policy Analyst.

Kristin Martin, Nashville. Prosecuting Attorney’s Office.

Casey Beard, Little Rock. Prosecuting Attorney’s Office. [Sic: public defender]

Jerry Walsh, Magnolia. Arkansas Coalition for Juvenile Justice, State Advisory Group Chair.

Judge Rhonda Wood, Conway. Faulkner County, Juvenile Judge. [sic: Presumably Gov. Hutchinson knows Wood is now a member of the Arkansas Supreme Court.]

Darryl Basset, Sherwood. Arkansas Department of Workforce Services, Director.

Paula Stone, Sherwood. DHS Division of Behavioral Health Services, Assistant Clinical Director.

Corey Thomas, Benton. Youth.

John Morgan, Hot Springs. Ouachita Children’s Center, Case Management Director.

Madelyn Keith, Clarkedale. East Arkansas Youth Services, Administrator.

Anne Wells, Benton. DCFS Mental Health, Manager.

Johnny Key, Russellville. State Board of Education, Commissioner. [Sic. The former Mountain Home senator now lives in Little Rock.]

Teresa Kramer, Conway. Family Involved in DYS.

Tom Tatum, Little Rock. Pulaski County, Prosecutor. [Sic. The Tom Tatum I know is a prosecutor in Danville.]

Tom Masseau, Little Rock. Disability Rights Arkansas, Executive Director.

Laurence Miller, Little Rock. Psychologist.

Tags: ,

Sign up for the Daily Update email

Comments (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-9 of 9

Add a comment

More by Max Brantley

  • Where's the outrage?

    Am I the only person, apart from federal prosecutors, outraged about the criminal enterprise that inveigled itself into a privileged position as an Arkansas taxpayer-financed human services provider to the tune, today, of $43 million a year?
    • Jun 21, 2018
  • Where's the outrage?

    • Jun 21, 2018
  • Rutledge opponent hits her socializing with corporate interests

    Mike Lee, the Democratic candidate for attorney general, has criticized Attorney General Leslie Rutledge over recent reports of her participation at private meetings where corporate interests make big contributions to a political group she heads for access to state legal officers.
    • Jun 21, 2018
  • More »

Readers also liked…

Most Viewed

Most Recent Comments



© 2018 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation