Marijuana commission holds first meeting and selects chair | Arkansas Blog

Monday, December 12, 2016

Marijuana commission holds first meeting and selects chair

Posted By on Mon, Dec 12, 2016 at 4:11 PM

CHAIR ELECTED: Dr. Ronda Henry-Tillman - UAMS
  • UAMS
  • CHAIR ELECTED: Dr. Ronda Henry-Tillman
The Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission met for the first time this afternoon. Appointments to the five-member board were announced by the governor and legislative leaders last week.

The medical marijuana amendment just approved by Arkansas voters created the commission and gave it authority over the licensing of dispensaries and cultivation centers. With a limited number of potentially lucrative licenses to be allocated, the commission's work will be of great interest to both pro-pot and anti-pot groups, as well as entrepreneurs eager to break into the marijuana business. That accounts for the large audience in attendance today, which spilled into the hallway outside the Alcoholic Beverage Control Conference Room.

This first meeting was fairly inconsequential. Commissioners took an oath, elected a chair and heard from staffers at the Department of Finance and Administration and the attorney general's office about the timeline for promulgating rules and compliance with the Freedom of Information Act. The commission set its next meeting — which should prove more substantial — for Tuesday, Dec. 20 at 3 p.m. The Alcoholic Beverage Control Conference Room is located at 1515 West Seventh Street, on the fifth floor of the building.

The medical marijuana commission selected as its chair Dr. Ronda Henry-Tillman, the only one of the five members appointed by Governor Hutchinson. Henry-Tillman is a breast cancer specialist at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences.

Tags: , ,

From the ArkTimes store


Comments (6)

Showing 1-6 of 6

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-6 of 6

Add a comment

More by Benjamin Hardy

Readers also liked…

  • Charter school accountability: Non-existent in Arkansas

    A state audit finds charter school spending violated state law, but the state Education Department says it has no responsibility for ensuring proper management of charter schools. Say what?
    • Mar 5, 2016
  • A response to police arrests becomes a tutorial on race, class and policing in Little Rock

    John Walker, the 79-year-old civil rights lawyer, and his associate, Omavi Shukur, 29, a young lawyer devoted to criminal justice reform, talked to press this afternoon about their arrests Monday by Little Rock police for supposedly obstructing governmental operations in observing and attempting to film a routine police traffic stop. It was a tutorial on sharp views of race, class and governance in Little Rock.
    • Sep 29, 2016
  • Policy group urges opposition to new charter seats in Little Rock

    The Arkansas Public Policy Panel is urging supporters of the Little Rock School District to tell state Board of Education members they oppose applications to be heard this week to dramatically expand the number of charter school seats in the Little Rock School District.
    • Mar 9, 2016

Most Shared

Most Viewed

Most Recent Comments



© 2017 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation