Hutchinson adds members to school safety task force | Arkansas Blog

Monday, March 12, 2018

Hutchinson adds members to school safety task force

Posted By on Mon, Mar 12, 2018 at 12:20 PM

Gov. Asa Hutchinson added some additional members to his school safety task force, a group that he has previously said would NOT consider gun safety issues. Still no students, but a member listed as parent of a student is a new member.

He's allotted $300,000 to study school safety measures including additional training for resource officers.

The commission membership:

Dr. Cheryl May – Chair
Director, Criminal Justice Institute (CJI)

University of Arkansas System

Bill Temple – Vice Chair
Retired Special Agent, Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)

John “Don” Kaminar

Special Projects and School Safety Manager

Arkansas Department of Education (ADE)

Brad Montgomery

Director of Public School Academic Facilities

Arkansas Department of Education (ADE)

A.J. Gary

Director, Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM)

Sheriff Tim Helder

Washington County Sheriff

Jami Cook

Director, Arkansas Law Enforcement Training Academy (ALETA)

Will Jones

Deputy Attorney General, Special Investigations Unit

Office of the Attorney General

David Hopkins

Superintendent, Clarksville School District

Dawn Anderson

High School Counselor, Hot Springs High School

John Allison

Teacher, Vilonia High School

*Tom Jenkins
Chief of the Rogers Fire Department

*Marvin L. Burton
Deputy Superintendent for the Little Rock School District

*Lori Poston
Child and Adolescent Therapist from Jonesboro

*Dr. Margaret Weiss
MD, PHD, UAMS Professor Department of Psychiatry, and the Director of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

*Ricky Hopkins
Parent of student in Prescott School District

*Dr. Sterling Claypoole
Professor in Psychology at South Arkansas Community College and Parent of students in El Dorado School District

*Dr. Joyce Cottoms
Superintendent for the Marvell-Elaine School District

* Jenkins, Burton, Poston, Weiss, Hopkins, Cottoms and Claypoole are additions.

Gov. Asa Hutchinson added some additional members to his school safety task force, a group that he has previously said would NOT consider gun safety issues. Still no students.

Tags: , ,

Sign up for the Daily Update email

Comments (6)

Showing 1-6 of 6

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-6 of 6

Add a comment

More by Max Brantley

  • Where's the outrage?

    Am I the only person, apart from federal prosecutors, outraged about the criminal enterprise that inveigled itself into a privileged position as an Arkansas taxpayer-financed human services provider to the tune, today, of $43 million a year?
    • Jun 21, 2018
  • Where's the outrage?

    • Jun 21, 2018
  • Rutledge opponent hits her socializing with corporate interests

    Mike Lee, the Democratic candidate for attorney general, has criticized Attorney General Leslie Rutledge over recent reports of her participation at private meetings where corporate interests make big contributions to a political group she heads for access to state legal officers.
    • Jun 21, 2018
  • More »

Readers also liked…

Most Viewed

  • Proposed child holding site in Arkansas 5 miles from WWII Japanese-American internment camp

    One big difference between Rohwer and today: The parents kept at Rohwer in World War II weren't separated from their children.
  • LR woman sues Louisville police over failures in rape investigation

    Salisa Luster Harrison, who now lives in Little Rock, Tuesday filed a federal lawsuit in Louisville, Ky., alleging multiple failures by the Louisville police investigating a sexual assault of her more than 10 years ago.
  • Baby gorilla born at zoo

    The Little Rock Zoo has a happy announcement: The birth of a healthy baby gorilla. The baby, whose sex has not been determined, was born to Sekani, who came to the zoo in 2004 from Toronto; her baby is her third. The father of the baby is a silverback, Kivu, and he is being "very attentive" to his first child, the zoo reports. Kivu came to the zoo in 2016 from Santa Barbara.

Most Recent Comments



© 2018 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation