Barry Switzer kicks off LR Touchdown Club lineup | Rock Candy

Monday, August 14, 2006

Barry Switzer kicks off LR Touchdown Club lineup

Posted on Mon, Aug 14, 2006 at 5:05 PM

Former Oklahoma Sooner and Dallas Cowboy coach Barry Switzer, one of the few coaches to win both a national college football championship and the Super Bowl, will be the first speaker for the Little Rock Touchdown Club when the series begins Monday, Aug. 28.

The partial lineup was released today by Metropolitan National Bank, the club's corporate sponsor for the third year, but Switzer's date with the club was  revealed last week when GameWeek in the Rock was announced.

The club, which began with 45 people attending the first meeting in 2002, grew to where more than 400 attended a speaking engagement by former Miami Hurricane coach Butch Davis, and Arkansas native and UA grad, last fall. Also, appearances by Arkansas athletic director Frank Broyles and then Springdale coach Gus Malzahn, now the offensive coordinator of the Razorbacks, drew huge crowds to the Embassy Suites ballroom, the site of the Touchdown Club meetings.

Meetings are held every Monday from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. The series culimates in 2006 with the annual awards banquet in December, recognizing coaches and players from every Arkansas college and several high schools. An additional meeting is scheduled for just before national signing day, which traditionally is the first Wednesday in February.

This year's lineup of regional and national guest speakers includes Ken Hatfield, the former player and coach of the Razorbacks, tentatively scheduled for Sept. 5 (the only Tuesday date for the club, because Labor Day is the day before), ASU coach Steve Roberts, Sept. 11; Alabama sports columnist and media personality Paul Finebaum, Sept. 18; and 1969 Texas stars James Street and Bob McKay, the date to be announced, and former Razorback quarterback greats Bill Montgomery, Clint Stoener, Ron Calcagni and Quinn Grovey. More speakers will be announced later in the season, but tentative plans call for such speakers as Danny Ford, Houston Nutt, former Auburn coach Pat Dye, NFL official Walt Coleman, sports agent Jimmy Sexton, former NFL linebacker Monte Coleman and recruiting reporter Otis Kirk

Lunch is $15 for members, $25 for nonmembers, and annual membership to the club is $40 for returning members and $45 for new members. Former Hog David Bazzel, a talk radio show host on KABZ-FM with Tommy Smith, is president of the club. More information on the club is available at

Sign up for the Daily Update email


Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

  • Coming Monday: Little Rock Black Restaurant Week

    MoTown Monday is Ceci's Chicken and Waffles. Tasty Tuesday is Sims BBQ and Brewster's Soul Food Cafe. Wing Wednesday is Chicken King and Chicken Wangs. Soul Food Thursday is Lindsey's BBQ and Hospitality House and Food Truck Festival Friday is @station801. It's the first Black Restaurant Week.
    • Mar 8, 2017
  • New music from Isaac Alexander

    New music from Isaac Alexander.
    • Jul 14, 2017
  • No Small Talk Ep. 8: Katy Henriksen, Springs Arts preview

    A packed episode this week of "No Small Talk": a chat with Katy Henriksen, from Of Note on KUAF; Stephanie Smittle breaks down the Spring Arts issue; and we finish up with just a tiny bit of Oscar chatter.
    • Mar 9, 2018

Most Recent Comments


© 2018 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation