More details on The Who's show at Alltel Arena | Rock Candy

Monday, February 12, 2007

More details on The Who's show at Alltel Arena

Posted on Mon, Feb 12, 2007 at 10:30 AM

Tickets for the Who's March 22 appearance at Alltel Arena go on sale Friday, Feb. 19, at 10 a.m. Besides the $77 and $52 tickets, there is a limited number of $117 gold circle tickets going on sale Friday as well (seats close enough to see the wrinkles on Roger and Pete in their first-ever visit to Arkansas). 

Rose Hill Drive, which has passed through to play local venues, is the support act on this leg of the tour.

Showtime is 7:30 p.m.

Tickets will be available at the Alltel Arena box office, all Ticketmaster outlets, charge by phone at 975-7575 or on line at or There is an eight-ticket purchase limit on Friday only.

Here are some of the comments, via Live Nation's press release, about the Who's World Tour so far:

“Their thundering, intense sound kept a sold-out United Center crowd thoroughly entertained for more than two hours...”  - Chicago Sun Times

“The two-hour concert repeatedly drew strength from The Who's newfound ability to revitalize, and not just rehash, its storied musical past.” – San Diego Union Tribune

“…there’s still as much passion in Daltrey’s throaty holler as there is fire in Townshend’s solos.” – Orange County Register

“More than forty years on, The Who’s shows still burst with youthful exuberance.” – Boston Herald

 “There's no denying the talent and skill that inspire longtime fans to return to arenas each time the Who launches another tour.”  - Seattle Post-Intelligencer

“The Who ensemble pounded and pranced through four decades of material...”  - Newsday

“But Mr. Townshend’s guitar — in power chords, wailing blues lines, probing modal phrases, architecturally placed riffs and savage little trills — is still a bulwark and a goad.” – The New York Times

The Who, famous for their powerful music and energy on stage, have been performing songs from their new mini rock opera, Wire & Glass, material from their newly released studio album along with their greatest hits and rarities, to the satisfaction of long time fans. The new album titled Endless Wire, the band’s first since 1982’s It’s Hard, was released on October 31, 2006 to overwhelming critical acclaim.

Pete Townshend and Roger Daltrey reunited for the Live 8 concert in London’s Hyde Park  as well as the 9/11 Benefit Concert at Madison Square Garden. They will be joined on stage for this tour by John ‘Rabbit’ Bundrick on keyboard, Pino Palladino on bass, Zak Starkey on drums and Simon Townshend on guitar and vocals.

Every ticket sold for the tour will include a free Virtual Ticket membership in The Who Tour Club. Updated throughout the tour, members will be given an exclusive insider's look at every aspect of the tour.  From rehearsals and preparations to coverage via audio and videos streams, downloads, set lists and news and much more. For further information including Tour Club memberships and VIP packages visit

From the ArkTimes store



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

Most Shared

  • Take yourself there: Mavis Staples coming to LR for Central High performance

    Gospel and R&B singer and civil rights activist Mavis Staples, who has been inspiring fans with gospel-inflected freedom songs like "I'll Take You There" and "March Up Freedom's Highway" and the poignant "Oh What a Feeling" will come to Little Rock for the commemoration of the 60th anniversary of the desegregation of Central High.
  • Klan's president

    Everything that Donald Trump does — make that everything that he says — is calculated to thrill his lustiest disciples. But he is discovering that what was brilliant for a politician is a miscalculation for a president, because it deepens the chasm between him and most Americans.
  • On Charlottesville

    Watching the Charlottesville spectacle from halfway across the country, I confess that my first instinct was to raillery. Vanilla ISIS, somebody called this mob of would-be Nazis. A parade of love-deprived nerds marching bravely out of their parents' basements carrying tiki torches from Home Depot.

Most Recent Comments

  • Re: New music from The Uh Huhs, Country Florist, The Wandering Lake, Osyrus Bolly and more


    • on August 17, 2017
  • Re: New music from The Uh Huhs, Country Florist, The Wandering Lake, Osyrus Bolly and more


    • on August 17, 2017
  • Re: New music from The Uh Huhs, Country Florist, The Wandering Lake, Osyrus Bolly and more


    • on August 17, 2017



© 2017 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation