Four shows to clear your calendar for | Rock Candy

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

Four shows to clear your calendar for

Posted By on Wed, Feb 18, 2009 at 11:15 AM

unknown.jpg

                                                                                        
1. Bishop Allen, Sticky Fingerz, Tues., March 17. The twee pop-rockers return to Little Rock for the first time in a loooong time. It'll be a homecoming for Christian Rudder (that's him in the plaid shirt in the top left). He's a Central High grad. The band's third album, "Grrr...", comes out March 10. You can preview songs here.

2. 8Ball & MJG, Revolution, Sat., March 21. Al Kapone a few months back, now Ball and MJG. No group carries more weight, at least nostalgically, in the urban scene in Central Arkansas. And they're still doing it. Putting out albums with Bad Boy. Releasing Memphis rap comps. Doing features. They could be terrible live. A lot of big name rap acts are, but surely after nearly 20 years in the game, they've had some practice. Download the duo leading a posse cut via the Fader.

3. Wilco, Lyric Theater, Oxford, Miss., April 23. The greatest band since sliced bread is coming nearby and I blew it by not telling you until now. Pre-sale tickets sold out this morning. But there'll be plenty available when tickets go onsale to the public on Friday.

4. The Thermals, Revolution, Wed., May 20. The Portland lo-fi punk-pop heroes, now on Kill Rock Stars after three albums with Sub Pop, have a new one coming out April 7.

Also upcoming and noteworthy:

Lucero, Revolution, Fri., Feb. 27
Grupo Fantasma, Sticky Fingerz, Sat., Feb 28 (great Latin funk)
Black Sheep, the Village, Wed., March 11
T-Model Ford, White Water Tavern, Fri., March 13 (already told you about this one)
Gringo Star, Sticky Fingerz, Sat., March 14
The Honorary Title, Revolution, Mon., March 16
Pelican, Vino's, Thu., March 19
Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit, Sticky Fingerz, Wed., March 25
Pat Green, Revolution, Fri., March 27
Blake Lewis with Darude, the Village, Fri., April 3
Mr. Lif, Sticky Fingerz, Wed., June 3
Black Moth Super Rainbow, Sticky Fingerz, Thu., June 4



Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Lindsey Millar

  • The Still Dead Red Edition

    Max and Lindsey talk election results, including Republicans' continued ballot dominance in Arkansas, ballot issues and the runoff for Little Rock mayor. Also, a new lawsuit that challenges the I-30 expansion corridor.
    • Nov 9, 2018
  • Come to 2nd Friday Art Night

    Plus, much more.
    • Nov 7, 2018
  • The Pre-Election Round-up Edition

    Arkansas Times editors Max Brantley and Lindsey Millar talk about a range of election topics, the departure of LR Police Chief Kenton Buckner and more on the attack on the Little Rock School District.
    • Nov 2, 2018
  • More »

Readers also liked…

Most Recent Comments

 

© 2018 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation