Arts Council announces award winners | Rock Candy

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Arts Council announces award winners

Posted By on Tue, Sep 27, 2011 at 4:44 PM

The North Little Rock arts scene got some state recognition today when the Arkansas Arts Council announced that Vince Insalaco is the winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award and John Gaudin the winner of the Arts Community Development Award, two of the Governor's Arts Awards for 2011.

The Arts Council also named individual fellowship recipients in music composition (Richard Salonen of Farmington, Rena Wren of Hot Springs and Shannon Wurst of Fayetteville), poetry (Mary Angelino, Fayetteville; J. Camp Brown, Fort Smith; and Cynthia King, Fayetteville) and sculpture/installation art (Ty Brunson of Russellville, John Rankine of Eureka Springs and Carey Voss of Conway, the subject of the video above.)

The Governor's Arts Awards will be presented at a luncheon at noon Oct. 18 in the ballroom of the Peabody Hotel. Tickets are $35; go to or call 324-9766 to purchase. Each recipient will receive an original work of art created by Arkansas artist Winston Taylor of Russellville, recipient of the 2011 Arkansas Living Treasure award.

Other Governor's Award winners are Nicole Capri, Arts in Education; Thoma Thoma, Corporate Sponsorship of the Arts; Mike Shirkey of Fayetteville, Folklife Award; Larry Foley of Fayetteville, Individual Artist Award; Hershey and Denise Garner of Fayetteville, Patron Award; and Claire Haun, Judges' Special Recognition Award. (That's several awards for Fayettevillians as well.)

Tags: , ,

From the ArkTimes store



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Leslie Newell Peacock

  • No Red Cross number on the wall? For shame, Planned Parenthood

    It would be interesting to know why Arkansas Department of Health inspectors have, for the first time, been concerned whether there is a Red Cross phone number posted in clinics that provide abortion services.
    • Dec 14, 2017
  • No more net neutrality: FCC votes along party lines in favor of telecom companies

    As expected, the FCC today voted along party lines 3-2 to dump net neutrality and allow broadband providers to block or slow upload of websites and charge for certain content and high-quality delivery.
    • Dec 14, 2017
  • Tech Park 2.0: Architects present for next phase

    The three finalists in the Little Rock Technology Park's search for an architect to design the next phase of park development — a six-story, 100,000-square-foot building on the empty lot between the park, at 417 Main St., and the KATV, Channel 7, building at 401 Main — presented to the board this afternoon.
    • Dec 13, 2017
  • More »

Readers also liked…

Most Shared



© 2017 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation