2013 Porter Fund Literary Prize awarded to Pat Carr | Rock Candy

Friday, June 7, 2013

2013 Porter Fund Literary Prize awarded to Pat Carr

Posted By on Fri, Jun 7, 2013 at 1:49 PM

Pat Carr won the 2013 Porter Fund Literary Prize pic
  • Pat Carr won the 2013 Porter Fund Literary Prize.

Writer Pat Carr has won the 2013 Porter Fund Prize, an annual award presented to "an Arkansas writer who has accomplished a substantial and impressive body of work that merits enhanced recognition," according to a press release.

The $2,000 prize has previously been awarded to Kevin Brockmeier, Trenton Lee Stewart, Roy Reed and Michael Heffernan, among others. Last year's winner was Margaret Jones Bolsterli.

Bolsterli called Carr to notify her of the news, to which Carr said, "I had the same feeling I would have had if I'd won the Nobel Prize," according to the release. Carr, who has published 18 books, also won the Iowa Fiction Prize for "The Women in the Mirror." Her novel "If We Must Die," about the 1921 riots in Tulsa, was a finalist for the PEN Book Award.

Carr will be presented with the award at a ceremony Oct. 3 at CALS Main Library.

Tags: , , ,

From the ArkTimes store



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Robert Bell

Readers also liked…

Most Shared

  • City ethics update; campaign limit was supposed to help the little guy

    Some more history on the Little Rock city ordinance that limits candidates for mayor and City Board to raising campaign funds to five months before the November 2018 election. It raises questions not only about Warwick Sabin's fund-raising tactics, but also Mayor Mark Stodola's carryover money.

Most Recent Comments



© 2017 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation