35 Arkansas artists selected for Delta Exhibition | Rock Candy

Friday, May 30, 2014

35 Arkansas artists selected for Delta Exhibition

Posted By on Fri, May 30, 2014 at 1:02 PM

click to enlarge Neal Harrington's work in the 2013 Delta, "Snake Shaker's Shack." He also has work in this year's Delta, the 56th.
  • Neal Harrington's work in the 2013 Delta, "Snake Shaker's Shack." He also has work in this year's Delta, the 56th.

The 56th annual Delta Exhibition that opens June 27 at the Arkansas Arts Center will include works by 63 65 artists, 33 35 of whom are from Arkansas. [UPDATE: Word comes from the Arts Center that Charles Steiner of Fort Smith and Jeff Sharp of Bryant were inadvertently left off the list sent to me. Sixty-five is also the number of works in the show; the AAC says more than 450 artists submitted more than 1,000 works of art.]

To make my job easier, I'm going to insert the list here from the news release from the Arts Center:

• DebiLynn Fendley of Arkadelphia, Ark.
• Sheila Cantrell of Batesville, Ark.
• Louis Watts of Bentonville, Ark.
• Jessica Camp of Conway, Ark.
• Deborah Kuster of Conway, Ark.
• Moises Menendez of El Dorado, Ark.
• Cindy Arsaga of Fayetteville, Ark.
• Jessica Westhafer of Fayetteville, Ark.
• Phoebe Lickwar of Fayetteville, Ark.
• Daniel Cassity of Hot Springs, Ark.
• David Bailin of Little Rock, Ark.
• Darrell Berry of Little Rock, Ark.
• Taimur Amin Cleary of Little Rock, Ark.
• Angela Davis Johnson of Little Rock, Ark.
• Ted Grimmett of Little Rock, Ark.
• Stephen Murphree of Little Rock, Ark.
• Ian Park of Little Rock, Ark.
• Robert Reep of Little Rock, Ark.
• Katherine Rutter of Little Rock, Ark.
• Cathryn Slater of Little Rock, Ark.
• Katherine Strause of Little Rock, Ark.
• Robin Tucker of Little Rock, Ark.
• Hubert Weldon of Little Rock, Ark.
• Dennis McCann of Maumelle, Ark.
• Kandy Jones of North Little Rock, Ark.
• Steven Rockwell of North Little Rock, Ark.
• Jerome Mazyck of Sherwood, Ark.
• Glenn Beasley of Sherwood, Ark.
• Jason Sacran of Magazine, Ark.
• Margaret Harrell of Mountain View, Ark.
• Carole Smith of Mountain View, Ark.
• Neal Harrington of Russellville, Ark.
• John Lasater IV of Siloam Springs, Ark.

and, of course, Steiner and Sharp.
Juror for the show was Brian Rutenberg, a native of South Carolina who is an artist in New York. He will choose the winners of the $2,500 Grand Award and the $750 Delta Awards. The Contemporaries group will award $250 to the artist the group chooses.

There is one artist in the show who like Rutenberg is from South Carolina: Andrew Blanchard. Perhaps it is for this reason that the Delta, which has always been described as a show for artists from Arkansas and contiguous states, is now being described as work by artists of the Mississippi Delta region. (Blanchard was born in Louisiana and educated in Mississippi, so he definitely has Delta roots.)

There will be a reception for the Delta and the show "Susan Paulson: Wilmot" from 6:30-8:30 p.m. June 26. Rutenberg will give a lecture prior to the reception at 6 p.m. Lecture tickets are $15 for nonmembers. The show runs through Sept. 28.

Tags: , , ,

Sign up for the Daily Update email


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Leslie Newell Peacock

  • Satia Spencer & Friends at Wildwood

    Elephantom at Stickyz and other things to do.
    • Jul 19, 2018
  • A deeper dive into a wider 30

    A look at ARDOT's environmental report.
    • Jul 18, 2018
  • UAMS restarts cardiac surgery program

    The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, which had to suspend its cardiac surgical care in May when its heart surgeon, Dr. Gareth Tobler, retired before a new hire had been made, has resumed its program.
    • Jul 13, 2018
  • More »

Readers also liked…

  • Coming Monday: Little Rock Black Restaurant Week

    MoTown Monday is Ceci's Chicken and Waffles. Tasty Tuesday is Sims BBQ and Brewster's Soul Food Cafe. Wing Wednesday is Chicken King and Chicken Wangs. Soul Food Thursday is Lindsey's BBQ and Hospitality House and Food Truck Festival Friday is @station801. It's the first Black Restaurant Week.
    • Mar 8, 2017
  • New music from Isaac Alexander

    New music from Isaac Alexander.
    • Jul 14, 2017
  • No Small Talk Ep. 8: Katy Henriksen, Springs Arts preview

    A packed episode this week of "No Small Talk": a chat with Katy Henriksen, from Of Note on KUAF; Stephanie Smittle breaks down the Spring Arts issue; and we finish up with just a tiny bit of Oscar chatter.
    • Mar 9, 2018

© 2018 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation