Mara Leveritt wins 2014 Porter Fund Literary Prize | Rock Candy

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Mara Leveritt wins 2014 Porter Fund Literary Prize

Posted By on Tue, Jul 22, 2014 at 11:46 AM

click to enlarge leveritt.jpg

The Porter Fund, founded by Little Rock novelists Jack Butler and Phillip McMath in 1984, has announced writer and Arkansas Times contributing editor Mara Leveritt as the recipient of the 2014 Porter Fund Literary Prize. Past award winners include Kevin BrockmeierTrenton Lee StewartRoy Reed, David Jauss and Donald Harington.

Leveritt, best known for her True Crime classic "Devil's Knot: The True Story of the West Memphis Three" (on which the recent Hollywood film was based) and its follow-up (released this year), "Dark Spell: Surviving the Sentence," will be honored at a ceremony held at the Main Library's Darragh Center on October 16, an event that will be free and open to the public. According to the organization's press release, Leveritt got the news from a phone call at 8 a.m. "I could not think of a better way to start the day," she's quoted as saying. 

Tags: , , , ,

From the ArkTimes store


Comments (3)

Showing 1-3 of 3

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-3 of 3

Add a comment

More by Will Stephenson

  • A Q&A with Peter Guralnick

    On writing biographies, Elvis, Charlie Rich and more.
    • Apr 14, 2016
  • Ruthie Foster comes to South on Main

    Also, Mumford and Sons at Verizon, 29th Annual Ozark UFO Conference in Eureka Springs, Fantastic Cinema and Craft Beer Festival at Riverdale and Melanne Verveer at the Clinton School.
    • Apr 7, 2016
  • Goodbye to all that (Arkansas edition)

    What I'm trying to say is that I'm quitting the Arkansas Times ā€” this is my last week ā€” and not because I hated it, but because I loved it so much.
    • Apr 6, 2016
  • More »

Readers also liked…

Most Shared

Most Recent Comments



© 2017 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation