New music from Isaac Alexander | Rock Candy

Friday, July 14, 2017

New music from Isaac Alexander

Posted By on Fri, Jul 14, 2017 at 10:54 AM

click to enlarge ISAAC ALEXANDER
  • Isaac Alexander
There are a lot of things that make "new music from Isaac Alexander" a thrilling phrase: an undying allegiance to melody, sparkly chord changes, clarity, reticence. Courtesy of one of our city's thinking-est songwriters comes a new one, "Like a Sinking Stone."

Dig it, and when you've spun it three times and go looking for more, be warned that a search for Alexander's name on a few standard music consumption platforms turns up another Isaac Alexander, not to be confused with the composer of gems like "Sincerely" and "Nothing is Something." Then again, a few bars of Other Isaac Alexander's music should make it pretty clear you're not listening to Little Rock's own, anyway.

The album was recorded, mixed and produced by Joe McMahan. Max Recordings reports a CD version will be available next month.

From the ArkTimes store



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Stephanie Smittle

  • Bob Schneider at Rev Room

    Also, PopUp Argenta, Frances & The Foundation, "97" fiber installation at Bernice Garden, Jim Gaffigan, "Be Yourself" Poster Launch and more
    • Jul 20, 2017
  • Kaleidoscope Film Fest to feature Armistead Maupin, Cheryl Dunye, Chef Pink

    Armistead Maupin, the author of the “Tales of the City” series and “Babycakes” and subject of the film “The Untold Tales of Armistead Maupin,” will appear at this summer’s Kaleidoscope Film Festival, the Film Society of Little Rock’s LGBT-focused film event to take place Aug. 11-19 at Argenta Community Theater, South on Main and Flyway Brewing.
    • Jul 12, 2017
  • Porter Fund Literary Prize awarded to Padma Viswanathan

    Padma Viswanathan is the recipient of the 2017 Porter Fund Literary Prize.
    • Jul 12, 2017
  • More »

Readers also liked…

  • Federal judge wants John Goodson to explain class action maneuvering

    A show-cause order filed Monday by federal Judge P.K. Holmes of Fort Smith indicates class action attorney John Goodson has some explaining to do about the move of a class action complaint against an insurance company from federal to state court with an instant pre-packaged settlement that has been criticized as a windfall for Goodson.
    • Dec 22, 2015
  • Judge anticipates punishment of lawyers in Fort Smith class action case

    Federal Judge P.K. Holmes of Fort Smith issued a 32-page ruling yesterday indicating he contemplates punishment of 16 lawyers who moved a class action lawsuit against an insurance company out of his court to a state court in Polk County after a settlement had been worked out.
    • Apr 15, 2016
  • John Goodson and others add lawyers for hearing on forum shopping

    Lawyers facing federal court sanctions for forum shopping a class action insurance case have brought in new legal guns from out of state to fight potential sanctions.
    • May 26, 2016

People who saved…

Most Shared

Most Recent Comments

  • Re: Riverfest calls it quits

    • Well Mr. New Idea you cover all areas of the point. Didn't hold back true…

    • on July 24, 2017



© 2017 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation