37 artists win a spot in the 2019 "Small Works on Paper" artists | Rock Candy

Friday, December 21, 2018

37 artists win a spot in the 2019 "Small Works on Paper" artists

Posted By on Fri, Dec 21, 2018 at 2:53 PM

click to enlarge Markeith Woods, "Do You Remember What I Worked For?"
  • Markeith Woods, "Do You Remember What I Worked For?"

The touring "Small Works on Paper" exhibition put on by the Arkansas Arts Council will in 2019 feature the 39 works by 37 artists from every corner of the state, three of whom won cash awards. The show opens with a reception from 1-3 p.m. Jan. 12 at the Arts & Science Center for Southeast Arkansas, 701 Main St.in Pine Bluff.

Works in the show can be no larger than 18-by-24 inches, and artists must be members of the Arts Council's Arkansas Artist Registry.
click to enlarge Daniella Napolitano, "Curia Regis"
  • Daniella Napolitano, "Curia Regis"

Juror was Robin Dru Germany, professor of photography and associate director at Texas Tech University's School of Art. She selected the winners, as well: Markeith Woods of Pine Bluff, who won Best of Show ($500) for his mixed media work "Do You Remember What I Worked For?"; Daniella Napolitano of Little Rock, who won the Juror's Choice award ($300) for her linocut "Curia Regis"; and J.P. Bel of Fayetteville, who won the Merit Award ($200) for his photograph "Repair of No. 2."
click to enlarge J.P. Bel, "Repair of No 2"
  • J.P. Bel, "Repair of No 2"

Other artists whose work was chosen for SWOP: Susan Chambers, Rex R. DeLoney, Ike Garlington, Diane Harper, Jeff Horton, Cary Jenkins, Cary Smith and Glenda McCune, all of Little Rock; Kathy Atwood of Eureka Springs, Maria Botti Villegas of El Dorado, Hillary Brooks and Evan Lindquist of Jonesboro, Harrison Cole and L.S. Eldridge of Rogers,

Leslie Coston and Stacy Spangler of Fayetteville, Norwood Creech of Lepanto, B. Duncan and Jessica Medeiros of Van Buren, Carol Flori of Texarkana, Terra Fondriest of St. Joe, Neal Harrington of Russellville, Jeri Hillis, Shirley Tipton and Richard Stephens of Hot Springs,

Matt Kaye of Camden, Dennis McCann of Maumelle, Dewana McIntosh of Smithville, David Roberts of Sherwood, Mike Means of El Dorado, Jessica Mongeon of Ozark, Melissa Wilkinson of West Memphis and Anna Zusman of El Dorado.

The show will travel to different venues on a monthly basis.

Tags: ,



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Leslie Newell Peacock

  • Rally for Reproductive Rights on Saturday: UPDATE

    The annual Rally for Reproductive Justice will be held on the Capitol steps at 1 p.m. this Saturday, Jan. 19. Keynote speaker will be Pamela Merritt, the co-founder of Reproaction, and others on why these bills are hurting, not helping, women and their families.
    • Jan 17, 2019
  • A skeptical take on psychology and men

    Gene Lyons gets literary in his most recent column's leadup to a critique of a new psychological theory on the toxicity of manliness.
    • Jan 15, 2019
  • Crystal Bridges gets spacy before 'Men of Steel' launch

    Robert Pruitt will talk about his work at the Crystal Bridges' "Art, Space Travel and Beyond with Robert Pruitt" roundtable starting at 7 p.m. Friday, Jan. 18.
    • Jan 15, 2019
  • More »

Readers also liked…

Most Recent Comments


© 2019 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation