Dallas Film Critics: 'United 93' | The Moviegoer

Monday, December 18, 2006

Dallas Film Critics: 'United 93'

Posted By on Mon, Dec 18, 2006 at 9:01 PM

The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association voted the true-life drama UNITED 93 as the best film of 2006, according to the results of its 13th annual critics’ poll released today.

Rounding out the composite list of the top 10 films of the year were THE DEPARTED (2), LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE (3), THE QUEEN (4), BABEL (5), LETTERS FROM IWO JIMA (6), DREAMGIRLS (7), BLOOD DIAMOND (8), LITTLE CHILDREN (9) and FLAGS OF OUR FATHERS (10).

For Best Actor, the association named Forest Whitaker for THE LAST KING OF SCOTLAND. Runners-up included Leonardo DiCaprio for THE DEPARTED (2), Ryan Gosling for HALF NELSON (3), Peter O’Toole for VENUS (4) and Leonardo DiCaprio for BLOOD DIAMOND (5).

Helen Mirren was voted Best Actress for THE QUEEN. Next in the voting were Judi Dench for NOTES ON A SCANDAL (2), Meryl Streep for THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA (3), Kate Winslet for LITTLE CHILDREN (4) and Penelope Cruz for VOLVER (5).

In the Best Supporting Actor category, the winner was Jackie Earle Haley for LITTLE CHILDREN. He was followed by Jack Nicholson for THE DEPARTED (2), Eddie Murphy for DREAMGIRLS (3), Djimon Hounsou for BLOOD DIAMOND (4) and Michael Sheen for THE QUEEN (5).

For Best Supporting Actress, the association named Cate Blanchett for NOTES ON A SCANDAL. Runners-up included Jennifer Hudson for DREAMGIRLS (2), Adriana Barraza for BABEL (3), Rinko Kikuchi for BABEL (4) and Emily Blunt for THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA (5).

Martin Scorsese was voted Best Director for THE DEPARTED. Next in the voting were Paul Greengrass for UNITED 93 (2), Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu for BABEL (3), Clint Eastwood for LETTERS FROM IWO JIMA (4) and Stephen Frears for THE QUEEN (5).

The association voted LETTERS FROM IWO JIMA as the best foreign-language film of the year. Runners-up were PAN’S LABYRINTH (2), WATER (3), VOLVER (4) and APOCALYPTO (5).


HAPPY FEET was named the best animated film of 2006, with MONSTER HOUSE as runner-up. Michael Arndt won the Best Screenplay award for LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE over Guillermo Arriaga for BABEL.

The award for Best Cinematography went to Dean Semler for APOCALYPTO, followed by a tie between Rodrigo Prieto for BABEL and Emmanuel Lubezki for CHILDREN OF MEN.

The association voted HALF NELSON as the winner of the Russell Smith Award, named for the late Dallas Morning News film critic. The honor is given annually to the best low-budget or cutting-edge independent film.

The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association consists of 35 broadcast, print and online journalists from throughout North Texas.

From the ArkTimes store



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by BSR

  • Weekend Moviegoing

    "Sunshine Cleaning," "Wendy and Lucy."  And this is fantastic.
    • Mar 27, 2009
  • Checking the Queue

    Thanks to Philip Martin for a shout-out in his Friday MovieStyle column.  I haven't posted my Netflix queue in a while, so here it is.Frozen River; Miracle at St. Anna; Hellboy II: The Golden Army; Happy-Go-Lucky; and Cadillac Records - - all 2008 releases that I missed.
    • Mar 14, 2009
  • That Time of Year

    It's the slowest for movies. "Watchmen," the much anticipated film adapted from, arguably, the greatest graphic novel of all time, has stirred the emotions of critics.
    • Mar 11, 2009
  • More »

Most Shared

  • Industrial hemp pilot program coming soon to Arkansas

    One of the booths at this week's Ark-La-Tex Medical Cannabis Expo was hosted by the Arkansas Hemp Association, a trade group founded to promote and expand non-intoxicating industrial hemp as an agricultural crop in the state. AHA Vice President Jeremy Fisher said the first licenses to grow experimental plots of hemp in the state should be issued by the Arkansas State Plant Board next spring.
  • The prayers of Rapert

    Sen. Jason Rapert is keeping a close eye on the Alabama Senate race.



© 2017 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation