Garland and band still play well 

New release ‘Angora’ featured at Saturday’s White Water show.

NEW CD: Amy Garland.,
  • NEW CD: Amy Garland.,
It’s been almost four years since Amy Garland’s last CD, “Plays Well With Others.” With basically a whole new band lineup since that project, Garland and her band (guitarist Nick Devlin, bassist Mike Nelson and spouse Bart Angel on drums) will celebrate the release of her new CD, “Angora,” at 10 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 13, at the White Water Tavern. Garland wrote all the songs on the album (with writing help on three tracks), and on her press release she says, “Sonically, ‘Angora’ is a more textured collection of 10 songs, reflecting some of the more intangible subject matter,” and “there are dozens of little sonic treasures to find.” The album was recorded with a rural nuance in mind inside band members’ homes and outside on their porches and at a cabin on top of Angora Mountain near Leslie (Searcy County). Garland says, “There’s a real outdoor vibe to it; you can hear our dogs’ tags jingling, the birds, the river, rushing, the cockroaches scrambling across the wood floors.” The album was also helped by non-insects, bringing in the talents of Brad and Amy Williams (Salty Dogs frontman and his vocalist spouse), Chris Atwood (bassist for Parachute Woman) and violinist Bill Thurman. Cover for Saturday’s show is $5, and CDs will be on sale for $10. As a side note, Garland and Nelson landed a spot on “Trading Spaces,” the popular home improvement show on The Learning Channel. Crews from the show arrived at the group’s Nov. 2 appearance Sticky Fingerz to surprise bassist Nelson, a huge fan of the show. The rest of the band was in on the surprise. The band formally known as the Benders are all grown up now, complete with a new band name and new CD, recorded the past couple of months at the Blue Chair Studio. Grande Serenade, consisting of high school friends Jordan Trotter on lead guitar, Kyle Mays on rhythm, Trevor Ware on bass and Justin Seymore on drums, will celebrate the release of “Crashing Cars,” Friday, Nov. 12 at Vino’s Brewpub. Unlike a good chunk of the local musicians around here, none of them have moonlighted in other bands since their inception five years ago. Ware says of the changes since the Benders, “Simply put, we’ve just gotten better.” Cover is $5, and copies of the CD will go for $5. A year and a half ago, Sondre Lerche played a well-received date at Vino’s, on tour with Nada Surf and Ultimate Fakebook. The 21-year-old Norwegian returns to the club Tuesday, Nov. 16, with a few more notches on his belt: a recent tour with Liz Phair, his new album “Two Monologues,” and a nomination for the upcoming MTV European Music Awards in the category of “Best Nordic Act.” Lerche’s music is best described as arranged rock with folk and pop influences. He has excelled in this category since he picked up a guitar at age 14. Although his last visit was a solo show, he’ll be supported by Golden Republic (formally known as a five-piece glam-rock band the People), which will open the concert with before backing Lerche. The all-ages show starts at 8:30 p.m., and tickets are available at Vino’s for $8 in advance or $10 at the door. After a few more dates in the South and then in his homeland, he will perform on Dec. 11 at the Nobel Peace Prize Concert in his Norway’s capital, Oslo. Intelligent newgrass influenced by organic rock by way of North Carolina — and lively enough to kick your heels up to — comes to Sticky Fingerz on Friday, Nov. 12, in the form of Acoustic Syndicate, whose fans are known to travel far and way to catch their performances. The band’s repertoire includes several top-selling albums, with the latest, “Long Way Around,” a release that may make some bluegrass purists raise an eyebrow: It includes plugged-in instruments, a drummer and (gasp!) a saxophonist. The group is a family affair with frontman/guitarist Steve McMurry joining cousins Bryon and Fitz McMurry (banjo and percussion), bottom provided by Jay Sanders and Jeremy Saunders on saxophone. Tickets are on sale in advance for $10 at the venue or $12 at the door. The show starts at 9:30 p.m. Some of us remember seeing Trusty at what’s now known as Vino’s (then the DMZ); others claim to have seen the group the first time at the Woman’s City Club. Anyhow, the members of local legendary downtown punk-’n’-rock group have reunited to record an album, remaking old songs from its debut album from more than a decade ago and adding a few new ones. James Brady came in from Washington, D.C., and bassist Bobby Matthews came in from Memphis. Guitarist Paul Bowling and drummer Bircho reside in Little Rock. The new album is set for a January release, and a reunio



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Arkansas Times Staff

  • New episode of Rock The Culture: "Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is"

    In this week’s episode, Antwan Phillips and Rep. Charles Blake provide perspective and conversation on the City’s study to change the form of government, bond issues to improve quality of life, and Rep. Blake’s breakdown on the close of the legislative session. In addition, they provide rapid fire perspective on RockTopics. They also speak with Mayor Frank Scott, Jr. to discuss the first 100 days of his administration and his Little Rock 2020 Education Roadmap.
    • Apr 16, 2019
  • New episode of Rock The Culture: "You Want That Testimony"

    In this week’s episode, Antwan Phillips and Rep. Charles Blake provide perspective and conversation on the Central Arkansas Water’s efforts to secure additional fresh water sources, the Legislature’s attempt to extend the time that the State Board of Education can control the LRSD, and the location of LRPD’s license plate readers and security cameras.
    • Apr 8, 2019
  • New episode of Rock the Culture podcast: 'Comfortable Being Uncomfortable'

    In this week’s episode, Antwan and Charles provide perspective and conversation on the cancellation of Riverfest 2019 and the Arkansas Legislature’s new attempt to pass legislation to implement a voucher program.
    • Apr 1, 2019
  • More »

Latest in In the Clubs

  • Riding in on a Mule

    Haynes’ blues group Govt. Mule, Little River Band, Honeytribe are in town.
    • May 4, 2007
  • Crossing over

    Country rockers try to replicate their Lone Star state success.
    • Apr 26, 2007
  • Conduit brings a ‘Chill’ to Rev Room

    Local rap collective Conduit celebrates the release of its latest compilation album, “Theme Muzik,” with an expanded version of its regular concert series “The Chill” at the Revolution Music Room on Friday.
    • Apr 26, 2007
  • More »

Most Viewed


© 2019 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation