Registered historic 


Five properties have been added to the 2,551 Arkansas structures whose significance has earned them a spot on the National Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program recently announced the following successful nominations:

1. The Shady Grove Delmar Church and School near Delmar in Carroll County, circa 1880.

The unaltered building is "an excellent example of a one-room vernacular church and school building," according to the National Register nomination. Note the decorative hexagonal bell tower, something not commonly found on what was a common building type in the late 19th century.

2. St. Mary's Church at Paragould in Greene County, 1935.

This Romanesque Revival structure is one of only two buildings in Arkansas designed by famed designer and architect Charles Eames.

3. The Hope Girl Scout Little House at Hope in Hempstead County, circa 1938.

This log cabin was built by Works Progress Administration employees. "The use of this New Deal-era program to construct this wonderfully designed building with its craftsmanship goes to show how a community can pull together during a time of need and help shape the lives of both the men that helped construct the 'Little House' and the morals and lessons learned through the Girl Scout Program," the nomination said.

4. The Ozone School at Ozone in Johnson County, 1942.

This cut-stone building, constructed through the Works Progress Administration, served both as a school and community center.

5. Boundary increase to the Fishback Neighborhood Historic District at Fort Smith in Sebastian County.

The Fishback Neighborhood Historic District is "one of the largest intact collections of contiguous early- to-mid-20th century dwellings in Fort Smith," the nomination said. The majority of the buildings have not been altered.



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in The Big Picture

Most Recent Comments


© 2019 Arkansas Times | 201 East Markham, Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201
Powered by Foundation